Getting On the Good Foot

I live on a fixed and modest income.  I budget for each necessity of life.  Necessities include food, clothing, shelter and dog biscuits.  One category in my spending plan I call “Personal Care.”  Prominent among my personal care items is a monthly pedicure.

Some folks consider a pedicure extravagant.  I consider it a necessity.  You see, I cannot see my own feet.  At first, diminishing visibility didn’t stop me from hacking divots in my toes.  My toenails resembled fence rails gnawed by farm animals.  After many misadventures, I adopted a policy to not attack body parts with sharp instruments.

My desire for pedicures goes beyond the cosmetic.  Honest, I don’t care if I have pretty feet.  I do care that they’re intact and useful. I depend on my feet, my white cane and my guide dog for mobility.  I depend on mobility to meet my needs.  I would suffer by being laid up with any self-inflicted injuries.

Healthy feet are part of my comprehensive campaign to achieve and maintain physical and emotional health.  I was sharing the details of my plan with the pedicurist.  I told her I wanted to lose fifteen pounds from around my middle and she said, “Is that all?”  Wounded, I grew sullen.  When she asked if I wanted my nails buffed, I said only, “Yes.”  And when she asked if I wanted them colored, I replied, “No.  Red toenails frighten the dog.”

But I digress into a “dear Abby” letter.  I’ve made my point about foot care for the visually impaired.  Next installment, I promise to address more significant topics.  For now, though, my question is, should I find a different pedicurist?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting On the Good Foot

  1. Andrea says:

    Oh…weight can be a sensitive subject.

    Things to consider about your pedicurist…does she have a quirky sense of humor? Does she give a good pedicure? Is she affordable? Conveniently located? But most important, I think, are you comfortable with her? Was the pedicure a pleasant overall experience?

    I broke my hand last month, which led me to get a pedicure. I felt so pampered with a foot massage included. I’m going back. I found it relaxing, luxurious and affordable.

    • Kathy Austin says:

      Thanks for making the case for pedicures! I always get them in the summer, but now that shoes are covering, the nails have become those gnawed fence rails you speak of because of my own infliction of sharp metal objects. Hope my husband will buy this!

      • Fred says:

        When I was younger cutting my nails was never a problem. Now that I am old it’s a different story. I too now get my nails done. The best part of this is the young Korean girls that massage my feet and hands. They don’t speak much English but that’s good for my immagination.

    • Susie Corbitt says:

      I haven’t indulged in a professional pedicure but it does sound nice. It would be a splurge but so is going out for dinner. I splurge on that, at times! Being financially responsible is important but budgeting something that we give ourselves permission to do, is important, too.
      To those of you who can reach your toe nails, I want to mention that I file my toe nails and this way isn’t dangerous like clippers are.
      One of these days I will go and indulge my feet with a pedicure! Thanks Jeff, for the great idea and thanks too, for your efforts writing these essays!

  2. Holly says:

    Hmmm… a good hair stylist, manicurist, pedicurist, etc., should always be on your side: supportive and positive. She should have said, “That’s great! What’s your plan?” Unless this person is giving you the world’s greatest pedicure, you can find someone else. There are soooo many of these service providers in Chicago.

  3. bethfinke says:

    Thanks for giving me an *excellent* reason to justify a pedicure — very much appreciated!

  4. deidreralph says:

    Good foot care good footwear essential, you wouldn’t put an inferior tyre on a car and our feet are our transport most of the time. Yes go to a new podiatrist.

  5. Debra says:

    OMG! I never realized the unspoken pedicure! My husband has never mentioned a pedicure (he never mentions any problems (which makes it soo difficult on my end) and since I personally have never had one, I wouldn’t be able to guess on it. I never thought there might be a reason for his resistance to footcare – he has quite a few “strange” quirks about him – (like saving his toenail trimmings in a Vitamin A jar) ‘ gosh, I bet that’s why! they were the sucessful ones – gee now what do I do with this new knowledge…. should I learn how to do a pedicure? I do already have the correct tools (hmm, they were an interesting gift from him on my last birthday) Should I go have one myself? (I’m awful foot-shy)
    He’s also very funny about being touched… could this also be a blind related thing?
    ( its the personal touching that he doesnt seem to care for, holding hands, cuddling, back rubs, etc. )

Leave a Reply

