The Losing End of Vision Loss

I’m travelling light these days. I’m getting rid of clutter. I’m consolidating. I’ve copied 500 CDs into my HP desktop and sold the discs. I’ve downloaded forty books into my Victor Reader Stream and I’ve slipped the Stream into my shirt pocket. You see, I’m getting rid of excess baggage. I’m a lean machine.

I feel more free and less encumbered. Still, parting with my stuff brings pangs of loss. But the physical parting is just a faint echo of the emotional loss I felt at losing sight of my stuff. Like when I no longer could see the crew cuts and baggy pants on my 1959 White Sox baseball cards. Like flipping through all those record albums I kept around simply to stare at the pictures, to count all the people on the Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club cover.

I miss my books the most. I miss pulling The Great Gatsby from my shelf and reading the first and last paragraphs. I miss the illustrations in The Call of the Wild. I keep a book around just for its feel. When I gave away my books to friends, I did so carefully and with the assurance they would get a good home. Those I donated to libraries I pasted an “Ex Libris: Jeff Flodin” label I had printed as a teenaged book lover into each front inside cover. That way, each patron of the Philadelphia Free Library saw my name and, though having no knowledge of me as a person, knew I had once owned, held and prized this volume.

I try not to get hung up on personal possessions. They’re nice to have around for the pleasure they provide. Becoming free of possessions has been liberating. Letting go is a lesson in living. That said, losing is losing. the loss in vision loss goes beyond the physical separation of me and stuff. The emotions still tug if letting go means never to see them again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Losing End of Vision Loss

  1. bethfinke says:

    I so realte to this, Jeff. For me, giving up all my piano sheet music was particularly painful. You are quite a writer. Love the line “Losing Sight of my Stuff.” Good book title. Or poem title? Song lyric?

  2. It turns out that material things don’t matter as much as they used to. Maybe we’re getting closer to the real meaning of life. I miss being able to sketch in graphite and be able to create an image that almost looked photographic.

  3. Sac Hermes says:

    This particular posting is rather helpfull thx!

  4. Carl D. says:

    When I first read The Great G – I was to young. When I next read it I was already too old. How can you give away things you can not forget? If the site of the stuff around you gets you sad or mad, you should see what we are missing. The new books – the new thoughs – the new stuff. Oh, for yesteryear and all the cozy and warm stuff that cluthered our minds and our daze..

Leave a Reply

