Things Aren’t Like They Used to Be

I walk home through the late April twilight.  A rain shower has cleared the air and left puddles at the curb.  I step in the deepest parts of each.  I used to be able to keep my feet dry.

My dog walks alongside me.  His name is Randy.  Before him, I had Sherlock.  Before them, I had Molly.  Randy and Sherlock came from the Seeing Eye, Molly came from the neighbor’s back yard.  Things change.

I hear a baby stroller coming my way.  I squeeze left and brace for the collision.  Mother and child blur past.  I hope mom took my grimace for a smile.

The songbirds are in full voice.  I pause to listen.  They fill me with music and lift my spirit.  I never heard them before.

At the corner, I listen for a safe time to cross.  I urge Randy forward.  “Dogs go first,” I was taught.  I breathe deep against the fear.  I used to breeze across streets.

Here come two boys talking baseball.  Third base was my favorite position.  Now my glove goes unused.

I catch the scent of home cooking.  I want to join them for supper. I’ve got plenty of time.  I don’t rush around like I used to.

Randy pulls up short.  I probe with one foot.  The sidewalk falls off.  I urge Randy left.  We cross the parkway.  He stops at the down curb.  I urge him forward, then right.  We walk parallel to the curb. I coax him, “Right.”  He stops at the up curb.  I urge him forward.  We cross the parkway.  We’re back on the sidewalk and the sidewalk is smooth.  Walking didn’t used to be so complicated.

The western sky holds no light.  Sunsets once came in red and orange and yellow and deep, deep blue.  Now I see with my imagination.

We walk down our block.  Randy cheats left.  It must be Randy’s house.  I remove his harness and unhook his leash.  “Good boy, Randy, and welcome home.”  I am grateful for the small things today.  I take nothing for granted anymore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things Aren’t Like They Used to Be

  1. bethfinke says:

    Oh, mercy, mercy me.

  2. Sara says:

    I/we keep learning what it means to take nothing for granted anymore. Beautifully said, Jeff. Thank you.

  3. Holy moly, Jeff. I hope we never take you for granted.

  4. Carl D says:

    Hi Jeff
    Yes Jeff – your on to me.. I to have a baseball glove that goes unused. Your sweet and gentle urging into blindness is something I have sensed sinse the first time we met. You are my insider into the world of blindness. As a guess in your blog – I can only say Thank You for your insights. And thanks to to Randy and Molly and Sherlock for keeping you out of harms way.

  5. So ture and so touching.

Leave a Reply

