Waiting, At the Bus Stop, In the Rain

I have faith the bus will come.  I’d prefer something tangible.  Faith is useful; I just dislike putting it to the test.

I’m waiting on the 8:18.  It’s late today.  Yesterday it was on time.  But then, yesterday it was not raining.

Randy wedges his noggin between my knees.  My raincoat keeps his head drier than the rest of him. My shirt feels moist under the coat.  I’m learning the difference between water-resistant and water-repellent.

Each minute I wait increases the odds the bus will arrive.  Or is my reasoning faulty?  My faith in the 8:18 wanes as my faith in the 8:33 waxes.  Or is my faith faulty?

I must look pathetic.  Not so much that any driver offers me a ride.  Drowned rat pathetic.  Eighty pounds of wet dog pathetic.

Mom would say I’ll catch my death of cold.  I can face death; I’m a White Sox fan. It’s sitting around all day with wet feet that I can live without.

Dad would say, “A little water won’t kill ya.” He’d be dry when he’d say this. But here’s the point: the rain is not what’s bothering me.  It’s the whole blind thing.  The unfairness of it all sticks in my craw.

Some of my brethren consider blindness merely an inconvenience.  I disagree.  Having your car in the shop is an inconvenience.  Waiting for the cable guy is an inconvenience.  My blindness threatens my spiritual serenity and my physical safety. Shall I struggle with shame that my blindness manifests so far beyond the trivial?

Rain and a late bus are inconvenient.  Blindness is a test of faith, a test of endurance.  It’s barely 8 in the morning and already I am weary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting, At the Bus Stop, In the Rain

  1. Ann Kleboe says:

    Blindness and other disabilities are without a doubt major tests. Getting off your But by Sean Stephenson was a book that is finally making a difference in my life. He is about three feet tall and in a wheel chair. He also became a therapist too. You can listen to his videos on U tube. Learning new ways to change is never easy especially when I slip back into the old ways automatically. Ahnee

  2. Kathy Austin says:

    Jeff, well said! Thank you!

  3. bethfinke says:

    You sure can write, Jeff! I came across the following local contest for nonfiction or short fiction of 1000 words or less…I’ll come hear you read if you are selected as a semifinalist!

    The Guild Literary Complex is proud to announce a call for short fiction and non-fictionsubmissions for its annual Prose Awards.
    This year’s two cash prizes will be $250 each, and
    The semifinalists from each category will read their work and the two winners will be named live to receive their prize at a recognition event on October 24, 2012.
    Submission Guidelines
    Students and non-students, and writers of all backgrounds and experience levels are invited to submit.
    Writers must be a resident of Illinois by October 24.
    • A submission fee of $5 is required.
    • Please submit one piece,(No exceptions please; if you send us more than one piece, we won’t be able to consider any.)
    • 1,000 words maximum word count (please word count on upper right corner of the first page)
    • Original work from the writer only (previously published is ok)
    More info at the Guild website (www.guildcomplex.org)

Leave a Reply

