Parts of Speech

I’m a writer.  I employ words.  I construct sentences.  I’m like the joyful artist who, when asked how he came to be a painter, said, “I liked the smell of the paint.”

Prepositions are among my favorite words.  In, out, with, without, over, under, around, through.  Prepositions establish the relationship between subject and object: He’s in love and she’s out of this world.

When I agreed to speak on the topic of “Beyond Vision Loss,” I got hung up on the preposition “beyond.” was I truly beyond vision loss?  Had I left it behind?  Was it once part of me but now it’s not?  Beyond implied separateness: me on one hand, my vision loss on the other. Beyond reinforced mind versus body, thought versus deed, us versus them.  Beyond implied a mighty struggle that I wasn’t too sure I’d won.

Now I realize I need to get beyond the literal, to see that I am beyond vision loss because blindness is no longer my sole preoccupation in life.  My obsession, if you will.  Blindness is more integrated in my identity.  I accept it more than I used to.  It’s within me.  Sometimes it’s not pretty, but it’s me.

Listen to the book title, Self-Esteem and Adjusting with Blindness.  Hear the power of the preposition?  It’s adjusting with Blindness, not adjusting to Blindness.  To me, the difference is huge.  I adjust to an external event, like the Blizzard of 2011.  I adjust with an internal condition, like blindness.

I’ve been adjusting with blindness for twenty-seven years.  Blindness began out there.  The enemy.  Now I’ve embraced it.  It’s mine.  Sometimes I hate it.  I strive for progress, not perfection. I’ve let it in.  In, in, in.  More than mere semantics, these parts of speech are my parts of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parts of Speech

  1. I just HAD to make a comment on this post, because I’m always amazed at how many blind and sighted people alike use the word overcome, instead of a better sounding word. Isn’t blindness, not something to overcome but something that we have to adapt to? Just my thoughts.

  2. Heather Morrison says:

    Jeff,
    Thank you for your blog. It really enriches my life.
    Heather (I have early RP, still 12 degrees of central vision)

    • Jeff Flodin says:

      Thank you, Robert and Heather, for your comments. Overcome is a loaded word. Maybe my next grammar blog will be on verbs. Or nouns — does “independence” raise your hackles a bit too, Robert? And Heather, enrich is the ultimate reward for these parts of speech. Thank you for taking the time to express this.

      • bethfinke says:

        I’ve always had trouble with that word “overcome” when it comes to a disability. The way I see, ahem,it is the only way I can overcome blindness is to see again. Jeff, I’llhave to give that word “independence” some thought now, too. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

