It’s Thanksgiving, Call the Plumber

While my wife assembles granny’s stuffing using seasoned bread and broth, I clean house using Murphy’s Oil Soap and water. I slosh it around with a white sock, envision the shine, wipe dry with a Material Girl Tour t-shirt and, for quality assurance, feel the sheen.  In my mind, our old oak gleams like the Lincoln bedroom.

I am summoned to bathe the turkey and empty its cavities for stuffing. Should I leave my wash bucket on the floor where Randy the dog might drink from it?  Shall I leave it on a chair where Mulligan the cat might slosh in it?  I stand, bucket in hand, indecisive and silly. 

Then I march into the bathroom, dump the soapy water into the toilet and, as I press the flusher, realize that the white sock has gone, unseen, from the bucket into the bowl and down the hole.  “No, no, no!” are the first words from my mouth, followed by every monosyllabic four-letter word in my vocabulary.

My fear is that a Thanksgiving dinner guest will emerge from kitchen or bath and announce that the plumbing is moving the wrong direction.  My antidote to this fear is to envision clear water flowing unimpeded to the sea, to Lake Michigan, to the Chicago water treatment plant.  This image calms me.

Each Thanksgiving, I intend to prolong our tryptophan glow by preparing turkey soup from the pan drippings. That never happens.  Each Black Friday, soupless, I sneak the full roasting pan to the dumpster.  Jeff’s mythical turkey soup has become a family joke.  This year, my wife proposed a dual approach:  “Pour the fat down the toilet,” she said.  “That way, the sock will just slide through the pipes.”  Move over, Liquid Plumb’r.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Thanksgiving, Call the Plumber

  1. bethfinke says:

    Loved this, but at first I couldn’t understand what you’d written about prolonging your “tryptophan glow.” His trip to where? Where the heck is Fanglow?
    had to have JAWS spell “tryptophan”
    out loud for me –ho, ho, ho! Thanks for the holiday laugh.

  2. Delightful story; well done…again.

  3. Julie Hearn says:

    Ha! I love your writing. Thank you for making my own progressive sight loss easier to live with. You touch raw nerves and funny bones both at once, which is cool. Merry Christmas to you from Oxford, England. Julie Hearn

  4. Nancy B says:

    I love the visualization of the water flowing! Thanks for another great story, you have a knack for this, definitely!

Leave a Reply

