Faith

King George VI said in his holiday message to his people during the darkest year of the war: “I said to the man who stood at the Gate of the Year, ‘Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.’  And he replied, ‘Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God.  That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.’”

The King of England summoned a higher power to lift spirits ravaged by war.  My humble faith leans to the practical and mundane.  Still, faith on any level requires trust and the belief that someone somewhere, cares. 

I submit to you certain areas in which faith keeps me going, whether around the block or across the psychic universe.  I invite your additions.

Faith that that manhole has a cover.

Faith that both shoes are brown.

Faith that your guide dog won’t chase that squirrel up the telephone pole.

Faith that other people are a lot like you.

Faith that strangers are eager to help.

Faith that the lull in the conversation does not mean she has walked away.

Faith that there are no soup stains on your tie.

Faith that the hand extended toward you holds no weapon.

Faith that the pharmacist put the right pills in the right bottles.

Faith that the sun remains a reliable indicator of direction.

Faith that there will always be someone nearby who sees better than you.

Faith in the goodness of the human spirit.

Faith that accepting help will enrich you both.

Faith that you are on the sidewalk and that car is in the street.

Faith that if you slip and fall on the ice, you won’t land on top of your laptop. 

Faith that what you just stepped in is not what you think it is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Faith

  1. Colt says:

    Faith that when I die I won’t be reborn into this world with crappy vision. Faith that if I’m wrong about rebirth in this world, and instead, I go to an afterlife (I hope for this), that I won’t have crappy vision, as I hear it’s beautiful there and I want to see it all.

  2. Jane thomas says:

    Jeff, you always provoke thought: the interdependence of faith, trust and belief. A couple days ago I got on a plane. I trusted that it would take off on time. It was four hours late, but I had faith that It would eventually get to Florida. It did. I believed I would celebrate my birthday with my beautiful family in warmth and sunshine My birthday key lime pie was delicious! From the simple things to the most profound, faith, trust and belief are so much a part of life.

  3. guidepooch says:

    Faith that the law stands for something and will have my back if people choose to ignore it.
    Faith that people will make room for my guide dog on a lifeboat.
    Faith that the person I’m speaking to in a store is a person and not a mannequin.
    Faith that that off leash dog won’t maul my guide dog to death.
    Faith that I will remain gainfully employed, even as my sight declines.
    Faith that if I reach my hand out first, the other person will find it.

    • Jeff Flodin says:

      Thanks so much for your comments and your “Faith” examples. Yes, faith that they’ll leave room in the lifeboat for not only you but you and your guide dog is very compelling.

Leave a Reply

