March Madness

Every time I press the power button on the remote, something different happens on the TV.  To claim that I enjoy the variety would be a face-saving rationalization.  I have enough spice in my life.  Need proof?  Listen to Samuel Clemens: “Blindness is an exciting business.  If you don’t believe it, get up some dark night on the wrong side of your bed when the house is on fire, and try to find the door.”  But I needn’t go to extremes.  Who needs a house fire when you’ve got a remote control?

All I wanted was to watch a little March Madness.  Sheesh!  You call this leisure?  And I’m not even testing the limits here.  Tivo remains a foreign phrase.  And descriptive audio, the legislated leveler of the TV playing field, lies somewhere beyond the mythical SAP button, in my techno Never Never Land.

Technological should be logical.  Garbage in, garbage out.  One or zero.  Yes or no.  Logic would say that if I do the same thing, like pressing the power button, I should get the same result, like the TV coming on.  I feel betrayed when what “should” happen doesn’t happen.

Predictability soothes me.  I like the flow of “if…then” statements.  Conventional wisdom defines insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.  Usually, this maxim refers to problematic behavior, like betting on long shots, and expecting them to win.  But I don’t consider March Madness problematic. 

By doing my same thing and getting different results, have I proven insanity, either theoretically or my very own?  Feels like it.  Perhaps my lesson is to avoid mixing technology with psychology.  Maybe I should just stick to basketball.  Let’s see.  If I pick all 68 winners, Warren Buffett will give me a billion dollars.  Hmmm, I like the odds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March Madness

  1. bethfinke says:

    “Technological should be logical.” I think you should trademark that phrase and make your billion dollars that way!

  2. Jenny T says:

    Hi Jeff, wouldn’t it be wonderful if technology actually did what you asked it to do? The other day, Blazer and I were taking a different path to class, because of ice and construction. As we were both unfamiliar with the path we should take, I programmed my iPhone to give me directions. Well, needless to say, the technology did get me there; however, when we arrived, I received a delayed email message saying that class had been cancelled. Now, that would have been nice to know, before our 30 minute trek, but the campus’s email system, in combination with my phone, determined that I didn’t need to know until class time. I just love technology. Jenny and her amazing guidedog Blazer.

Leave a Reply

