Gratitude

During my walks between home and work, my feet follow the course while my mind wanders.  Some days, I list things—U. S. Presidents, state capitals, pro sports teams (30 in baseball, 32 in the NFL).  Other times, I sing “Sgt. Pepper’s” or the first Doors album.  Today, I’m making a gratitude list.

I am grateful for my Seeing Eye dog, Randy.  His work ethic enables me to relax my mind a bit, to list things and sing songs during our walks.  He is my guide and companion.  With him, I never walk alone.

I am grateful to have GPS rather than relying on guesswork, memory or counting steps when I try a new route to work.

I am grateful for a sense of adventure that gets me out of the house to explore new places and things.

I am grateful for the willingness to say, “Please help me” for direction in life from a higher power and directions to the bus stop from a stranger.

I am grateful for the occasional wisdom to apply the phrase, “Don’t Give Up,” judiciously—to know when to keep pushing and when to give it a rest and come back to it later.

I am grateful that, for me, there is no physical pain with blindness and I am grateful to have the empathy to extend to those who suffer.

I am grateful for people in my life who love, care, encourage and try to understand and I am grateful when I find those qualities in myself.

I am grateful for the perspective to view blindness not as punishment, deficiency or a bad break, but to see it as a part, but not the defining part, of a larger me.

I am grateful for the gift to accept blindness as real life and to make of it what I will.

This entry was posted in Moving beyond vision loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gratitude

  1. clark94901 says:

    Jeff, what a great list. Thanks for sharing this. Hope the autumn air is sweet! Susy

  2. Beth Elman says:

    I am grateful for you in my life, you help me view the world with a different perspective and I am always in awe of your abilities and graciousness.
    Beth Elman

  3. Kent Flodin says:

    This one is a beaut!

  4. Pam Berman says:

    Oh, very nicely said Jeff! I so appreciate your positive post. Thank you so much for that.

  5. bethfinke says:

    appreciate the reminder that blindness does not bring me physical pain. Thank you for that, my friend. It’s huge.

    _____

  6. Candi says:

    This one I need to keep handy and re read when I am feeling a pity party coming on. Attitude IS everything!

  7. Judi Farrell-Booth says:

    You are an inspiration. I’ve no other words.

Leave a Reply

