How to Fold a Fitted Sheet

Lola and I, as housemates and paramours, share domesticity.  She, recently retired, is finding pleasure working in our home.  I, the blind member of our twosome, find pleasure contributing to our common good.  We are a team.  Lola and I are, respectively, hausfrau and hausherr.

Two weeks ago, Lola suggested we fold the laundry together.  I hoisted the hot bundle from the dryer, eager to share this warm and fuzzy experience.  Lola lifted the fitted sheet, eager to fold it before it grazed the carpet  and acquired a coat of cat hair.  Lola had discovered, only after we combined households, that she is allergic to cats.  I discovered, amid Lola’s sniffles, her grace in warming up to Mulligan and Hopalong rather than tossing them into the dryer.

I prepared to fold the fitted sheet.  I envisioned an origami swan.  I took two corners and Lola the other two.  We pulled it taut.  We stood silent, Boy and Girl Scout, ready to fold the flag.  Then Lola said, “OK, bring the ends together.”  I stepped toward her.

“No, sorry,” she said.  “Step back, hold your two corners and bring your hands together like this.”  I did as I was told.

“No, sorry, my fault,” said Lola.  “I meant like this.”  I did as I was told.

After a pause, Lola said, “Now, bring it to me, big boy.”  I moved to Lola.  Our hands clasped.  Our eyes locked, I think.  

“I’m getting the hang of this,” I said.  “It’s like square dancing.  Care to doh-si-doh?”  We leaned into one another, only the thin sheet between us.  Lola folded from below, I from above.  We met halfway…and conked heads.

“Ouch!” cried Lola.  “How come folding a fitted sheet always gives me a headache?”

“Oh, not that old excuse again,” I laughed, rubbing my head.

That was two Sundays ago.  Last Sunday, Lola emptied the dryer while I happened to be cleaning the cat box.  Upon my return, I found the fitted sheet folded and stashed in the cedar chest.  I thanked Lola for folding the laundry.

This Sunday, I emptied the dryer while Lola happened to be planting petunias on the patio.  I folded the fitted sheet and stashed it in the cedar chest.  Upon her return, Lola thanked me for folding the laundry.

“I think we’ve learned how to fold a fitted sheet,” said Lola, a smile in her voice.

“You taught me everything I know,” I replied, with a wink.

Playlist:

Lola” by The Kinks, from Lola vs. Powerman and the Moneygoround (1970)

Two of Us” by The Beatles, from Let It Be (1970)

Tea for Two” (1924) by Ella Fitzgerald and Count Basie, from Ella and Basie (1963)

It Takes Two” by Marvin Gaye and Kim Weston (1966)

Our House” by Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, from Déjà vu (1970)

Live with Me” by The Rolling Stones, from Let It Bleed (1970)

“Let’s Play House” by Beachcrimes & Tia Tia (2023)

Whatever Lola Wants, Lola Gets” by Sarah Vaughan (1955)

Love Street” by the Doors, from Waiting for the Sun (1968)

Anything You Can Do” by Bernadette Peters and Tom wopat, from Annie Get Your Gun (Broadway Revival Cast, 1999)

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment